Day 21 and a half: Beets!

I am cooking more than usual today as it is a holiday and I finally have the time!  I took the plunge and bought beets today after my husband shared his interest in juicing them. Since I already had leftover uncooked Brussels, I figured I could combine the two and at least know that HALF of the veggies would be yummy no matter my lack of culinary skills. I have been trying to try new things and eat new things in the process of learning about nutrition and so I am proud of myself for doing as I intended, and excited because these were GOOD. I will definitely make them again really soon (with some creativity too!)… Every time I take a new step I am reminded how worthwhile it is to do what is unfamiliar and do it well, because it only makes us more confident and self assured for the next new step.

photo

Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Beets Olive oil Sea salt Ground pepper A few sprigs of fresh thyme 3 medium sized beets skinned and sliced ¼-1/2 inch thick ½ package brussel sprouts halved

Place chopped veggies in one bowl and toss with olive oil and seasonings. You can always add pepper and salt to the finished product or leave unseasoned so that each diner can season their own food. Sometimes I use garlic or a vinegar in the roasting process as well, but as this was my first preparation of beets EVER I wanted to keep my flavors simple and not get too creative just in case…

Leave a Reply

