Day 21 Zucchini Pesto “Pasta”

Zucchini Pesto “Pasta” from The Complete Book Of Raw Food edited by Julie Rodwell

 

Final product!

Final product!

“Pasta”

2 medium Zucchini spiraled, shredded or sliced thin and long (like pasta)

8-10 sliced raw mushrooms

8-10 Sliced sundried tomatoes, soaked until soft and drained

Pesto

¼ cup pine nuts

¼ cup olive oil

¼ teaspoon salt

1 large bunch of Basil and Parsley washed and spun dry

Two exciting firsts:

Pesto

pesto ingred

I have tried to make pesto on three separate occasions all ending in failure. Because of my lack of familiarity with my Quisinart and lack of confidence in my cooking skills, I would always get intimidated by the food processor and the complicated recipes I perceived it to be involved in. Little did I know how SIMPLE using a food processor is and how uncomplicated cleaning it can be (its only 5 pieces). Now I use it all the time and this recipe gave me a chance to make pesto, add in some parsley (a current favorite for all occasions) and use my new cutting gadget the mandoline which helps me cut various things without the use of a hand knife!

photo (1)

Zucchini “Pasta”

prepared ingredients, looking delicious!

prepared ingredients, looking delicious!

Put mushrooms, sundrieds and zucchini “pasta” in one bowl after slicing. Put all pesto ingredients into a food processor and puree until smooth and creamy. Add pesto to bowl with veggies and mix until pesto is on everything. Serve! (if you want you can warm the dish up a bit to give the zucchini a softer more pasta like feel).

Leave a Reply

