Tofu Scramble Amazingness

photo(28)

Yum. This is one of my good old standbys from my early cooking days exploring vegan cooking. I was inspired by brunch made for me by my friends, and became determined to create my own version. I always use this recipe from The Post Punk Kitchen as I like the general spice blend. I tend to use 1.5-2 times the amount of spices, but until you know you like a strong flavor I always vote to take it easy. I get creative with the veggies and greens based upon my mood, what inspires me and what is seasonal/available. I couldn’t get kale, so i used collard greens in the recipe below. I used a combo of onions because i wanted to use up what i had. I am always willing to stray from a recipe and get creative with ingredients if i already know i like them. Next time im considering adding squash and black beans. Tofu scramble can be an ever changing pot of warm veggie comfort food to be eaten over rice, in a burrito, with eggs, fake meat, potatoes and ketchup/hot sauce OR any other possible way.

1 block firm tofu, drained and whole
1 red pepper, chopped finely
1 onion (or bunch of green onions), chopped
1/2 bunch collard greens, stems removed and ripped/chopped into bite size pieces
1 package mushrooms, sliced
5 pieces fake bacon (optional and slightly indulgent)
Nutritional yeast
Olive oil

Spices:
3 tsp Cumin
1 1/2 tsp Thyme, crushed in your fingers
1 tsp Turmeric
1 1/2 tsp Paprika
1 1/2 tsp Salt
1 tsp Curry powders

1 1/2 tsp Garlic powders

1/2 tsp Cayenne pepper

photo(31)

Heat Oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.  Add onions and saute for three minutes until softened.  Add mushrooms and red peppers, and cook another 5 minutes.  Add spice mix and blend.  Add 1/4 cup water to deglaze the pan, scraping all of the spices off the side of the pan.

photo(32)

photo(30)

While cooking the veggies, fry fake bacon in a frying pan until cooked through and somewhat crispy.  Take out of pan and let cool on a plate.

photo(29)

Crumble in tofu and mix well.  You want to be careful not to break the tofu up too much as you want it to be chunky, not in small bits.  Cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Some may need to add extra water to keep tofu from drying out, and this will depend on how much moisture is in the tofu to start.  When cooking is done crumble in bits of fake bacon.  Then add as much nutritional yeast as you like for taste and serve!

Leave a Reply

