Charoset

photo(61)

Traditional passover apple pate

This is a very simple dish that can be made in a food processor, although I make it by hand using a wooden bowl and hand held chopping knife.  Charoset is a food that is made as a part of the Passover celebration, and my grandmother taught me how to make this using the supplies I now use to make my own.  This is the recipe that she used, and she was not someone to measure or be exact with cooking, so you don’t need to worry too much about the exact measurements although the recipe is a good guideline for making it how I like it.  Charosis comes in many varieties, the Sephardic (Spanish/Middle Eastern Origin) Jews use dried fruits and additional spices, while Ashkenazic (Eastern European) create Charosis that is similar to this recipe which features apples, walnuts, wine and cinnamon.  I encourage anyone to get creative if they so desire and to add ingredients that they like.

Because this is a family recipe and because my grandmother is no longer living, creating this for passover every year is a tradition I must uphold and means a lot to me although I am not very religious.  To me making this recipe keeps family love alive, and so I am not only sharing a recipe with you, but the love and tradition that gets handed down from generation to generation in my family.  I hope you enjoy!

8 small macintosh apples, peeled and cored
1 1/2 cups shelled walnuts
1 1/2 tbs cinnamon
1/4 -1/2 cup

Chop apples into slices and pulse in food processor until decently chopped.  Add Walnuts and Cinnamon and continue to pulse until the mixture is almost chunk free.  Then add red wine and pulse until fairly pureed.  I always add a bit of wine at first, and slowly add more, because extra liquid will make this soggy and will prevent it from lasting long in your fridge.  Start by pouring a small amount and see how it tastes.  You want to be able to taste the wine, but you don’t want it to overpower the flavor of the rest of the ingredients.  You can always add more if you cannot taste it, and this goes for the cinnamon as well.

I love to eat this as a side dish, for lunch or even on crackers as a snack.  It is very healthy and delicious and is a major comfort food for me.

Leave a Reply

