Bloody Marys

I looooove a good Bloody Mary on a Sunday, and have intended to create my own perfect concoction for a long time now.  Brunch drinks are often expensive, and Bloodys themselves have so many varieties, that I often find myself disappointed by the flavor, consistency, spiciness and wateriness depending on who makes my beverage.  I figured that once I had my own recipe catered to my specific tastes, then I could make them whenever I want them, spend less money, and get exactly the perfect flavor balance I am looking for.  There is nothing worse for me than going to eat or drink something that I am in the mood for only to be thoroughly unfulfilled by whatever it is that ends up in my belly.  And so I have resolved the great Bloody Mary conundrum and am happy to share my new favorite recipe with you.  Drink  responsibly of course, and pair with a filling and hearty meal.

photo(51)

Adapted from Ina Garten’s recipe on the Food Network.

3 stalks Celery (plus more for serving)

36 oz tomato juice

8 Tsp Horseradish

1 Tsp grated yellow Onion

1 Lemon juiced

1/2 Tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/2 Tsp Celery Salt

1/4 Tsp Kosher Salt

12 dashes hot sauce to taste

1 1/2 cups Vodka

1 Tsp Dijon Mustard

1 Tsp Liquid Smoke

1/2 Cup Pickle Juice

1/2 Tsp Tamari Sauce

Fresh Ground Pepper, Celery, Olives, Pickles & Lemon or Lime slices to garnish.

Step 1:

Cut celery into a large dice (including leaves) and puree in a large food processor until minced.

Step 2:

In a large pitcher combine all ingredients except pureed Celery and vodka.

Once mixed pour a quarter of tomato mixture into the food processor (through the feed tube) while it is running (with celery already in it).  Then pour the mixture (tomato and celery processed together) back into the pitcher with the rest of the tomato mixture and add vodka.  Mix, taste, and adjust to achieve desired flavors.  Then let chill in refrigerator before serving.

Step 3: Serve in tall glasses over ice.  Garnish with lemon or lime slices, olives, pickles or your favorite hot pepper!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

