Roasted Veggie and Greens Frittata

Roasted Veggie Frittata

Roasted Veggie Frittata

1 red pepper, diced 1.5″
1/2 red onion, diced 1.5″

1/2 tomato, diced 1.5″
4 scallions, diced 1.5″
1 portobello mushroom, diced 1.5″
3 cloves Garlic, minced
2-3 Tbsp Grapeseed oil

6 Eggs
1/2 cup Half n Half
1/2 cup Cheddar Cheese

2 Tbsp Cream Cheese

Sea salt
Fresh ground pepper

Greens from 1 bunch Beets

 

This recipe started as an adventure in using left overs and produce I needed to use before it went bad.  I adapted Ina Garten’s Roasted Veggie Frittata Recipe and surprised myself with how delicious the results were!  There are a few steps, but don’t be intimidated!

Step 1:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Roast Onions, Scallions, Tomatoes, Red Pepper, Mushrooms and Garlic in an 8×10 or similarily sized pan tossed with 2 Tbsp Grapeseed Oil, Salt and Pepper.  Cook for 25-30 minutes until onions have carmelized and remove from oven.  Then reduce oven heat to 350.

Step 2: While veggies are roasting…

Mix Eggs, Half n Half, Cheeses with a pinch of Sea Salt and fresh ground Pepper in a large bowl.  Whisk until all ingredients are mixed thoroughly.

Then….

Step 3: The final step!

Pour remaining 1 Tbsp Oil into the roasting pan that veggies are in, so that the bottom of the pan is greased to prevent sticking.  Now add beet greens and then pour egg mixture over all of the veggies.  Stir if necessary to make sure everything is evenly distributed and coated with egg.

Cook at 350 for around 30 minutes until edges of the frittata start to brown.  If you want you can add some extra cheese on top of the dish at this point and allow to cook for another 5-10 minutes.  As I am rather particular about how I like my eggs cooked (well) I left this in the oven a bit longer to make sure I had the consistency I wanted.  Since all of our ovens are slightly different I would encourage you to make sure that your frittata is cooked all the way through and well, which may take longer than the time I have estimated here.

Now that I know how simple this is to make, I will be sure to be getting creative with my brunches in the future and look forward to sharing more frittatas with you!

Note: Most recipes will have you start your frittata on the stove top and then transfer it to the oven… but I do not have many oven safe frying pans, so I got a little creative, which thankfully worked!

Leave a Reply

