Magic Maitake Mushrooms

photo 2(15)

from Epicurious.com and chef Rich Landau of Vedge, who makes delicious vegan food in Philly!

I omitted the leek remoulade that was listed as the condiment for this, because I didn’t wanna get fancy, or make anything else, but this was fantastic as is!  also my Maitakes came from my CSA, and I did not have the right amount, so I’ll post the recipe I used as my guideline.

2 cloves Garlic, minced or pressed

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1/2 cup Grapeseed Oil (or other high heat oil)

2 8 ounce Maitake Mushrooms, cleaned and halved through the stem

Sea Salt and fresh ground Pepper

 

Simple as can be:  1) Mix Olive Oil and minced Garlic in a small bowl.  Set aside.  2) Heat Grapeseed Oil in a large frying pan over Medium High heat.  Season Mushrooms with Salt and Pepper and cook flat side down.  Press to flatten with a spatula once mushrooms soften, until golden and crisp, about 3 minutes per side.  3) Reduce heat to Low and drizzle garlic olive oil mixture around mushrooms in the pan.  Cook until Garlic is golden, about a minute, and turn mushrooms to coat in garlic.  These are one of the big guys in terms of tasty woodsy, and medicinal, mushrooms!  They are just perfect and smoky and totally make any dish they are a part of.  I loved eating them on their own, in like five minutes, but I’d imagine you could add them to a salad, stew, or other veggie dish to create dynamic flavor and diner’s delight!

One thought on “Magic Maitake Mushrooms

  1. Pingback: CSA Week 9 | Lisa Resnick Therapy

Leave a Reply

