Rainbow Chard with Pickled Golden Raisins and Pistachios

photo 2(17)

I want to make a disclaimer:  my version of this did not turn out so well!  I have no idea if this was due to my oversight (as is usual, I am admittedly bad with instructions) or if this is a difficult recipe.  My raisins turned into a caramelized mess and stuck together, so I got rid of most of them.  The flavor of the Chard with the Pistachios works for me, but obviously this did not turn out as expected-  so I am sharing with some hesitation.  I rarely share things that come out flawed, but this still tastes good, so I’ll let you be the judge!  Adapted from Vedge by Rich Landau and Katie Jacoby.

Ingredients

1/2 Cup Rice Wine Vinegar

1/4 Cup Golden Raisins

1 1/2 Tsp Sugar

1 Tsp Salt

2 bunches Rainbow Chard, center stalk removed and leaves chopped

2 Tbsp Grapeseed Oil (or other high heat oil)

2 Tsp minced, pressed or chopped Garlic

1/2 Tsp fresh Ground Pepper

2 Tbsp roughly chopped Pistachios

 

Step 1

Combine Vinegar, Raisins, Sugar and 1/2 Tsp Salt in a medium saucepan over high heat.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 5 minutes.  Set aside to cool.

Step 2

In the book they have you blanch the Chard to cook it a bit and reduce the bitterness, but I skipped this step because sometimes I am a lazy cook,  and want to take the easy route.  So I moved on to step 3.

Step 3

Heat Grapeseed Oil in a large saute pan over high heat.  As oil begins to ripple, add Garlic and cook until brown 2-3 minutes.  Add Chard, Pepper and remaining 1/2 Tsp Salt and cook until Chard wilts, 5-10 minutes.

Step 4

Transfer Chard to a dish (serving or storage!).  And here’s where my problems started: Drain Raisins from pickling liquid I couldn’t! They turned into a syrup.  Add Pistachios and serve!

One thought on “Rainbow Chard with Pickled Golden Raisins and Pistachios

  1. Pingback: CSA Week 10 | Lisa Resnick Therapy

Leave a Reply

